2016 ALLIANCE Hockey Annual General Meeting Concludes in Grand Bend and New President Introduced, News (Minor Hockey Alliance of Ontario)

News Article
News Article Image
Jun 04, 2016 | webmaster | 2128 views
2016 ALLIANCE Hockey Annual General Meeting Concludes in Grand Bend and New President Introduced
Stratford, ON - The 2016 ALLIANCE Hockey Annual General Meeting was held June 3-4, 2016 in Grand Bend, ON.  More than 200 members attended the two-day event which included a Golf Tournament, Awards Banquet, Volunteer Social and Annual General Meeting.

The weekend began with the Annual Golf Tournament on Friday, June 3rd at the Oakwood Resort Golf Club. Approximately 110 golfers enjoyed the warm weather and a variety of contests coordinated in part by the AGM Co-Hosts, the Greater London Hockey Association.  A Companion's Program of shopping in Bayfield was also organized.

Friday evening featured a dinner followed by the Annual ALLIANCE Hockey Awards Banquet.  An evening of comedy with the Shut the Front Door comedy troupe followed by dancing, capped off the day.

On Saturday, June 4th, the Annual General Meeting was conducted consisting of Executive Reports, Committee Reports, Notices of Motions and the introduction of the 2016-2017 Executive Committee.

The Executive Director's Report was focused upon making the game fun for participants.  Executive Director, Tony Martindale addressed the membership about a variety of specific topics including the Initiation Program, Novice Hockey, Growing the Game, as well as providing a report from the Hockey Canada Spring Congress. 

The ALLIANCE Hockey Executive welcomed a new President, Mr. Dan Gibbons of Tecumseh, ON.  Mr. Gibbons replaces outgoing President, Mr. Harry Blinkhorn (Wellesley, ON) whose Presidential term concluded after having held the position since 2012.  Mr. Blinkhorn will continue to be a member of the Executive Committee in the role of Immediate Past President.
Along with these acclaimed positions, ALLIANCE Hockey welcomed Mr. Gary McFarlane of Hamilton, ON as the new Vice-President of Region #1.  Mr. McFarlane replaces Mr. Brian Matuch of St. Catharines, ON who was acclaimed into the role of Sr. Vice-President.

2016-2017 Executive Committee:
President: Dan Gibbons (Tecumseh)
Past President: Harry Blinkhorn (Wellesley)
Sr. Vice President: Brian Matuch (St. Catharines)
Treasurer: Alan Webb (Kitchener)
Region #1 VP: Gary McFarlane (Hamilton)
Region #2 VP: Ray Kosumovic (Waterloo)
Region #3 VP: Keith Woods (London)
Region #4 VP: Carl Chapman (Stratford)
Region #5 VP: Jennifer MacDonald (Windsor)
Rec Council Chair: Larry Moreland (Waterloo)
Rep Council Chair: Thom Foster (Brantford)
TD of Officials: Marshall Copp (London)


A special tribute to outgoing President, Harry Blinkhorn was also a feature of the 2016 Annual General Meeting program.


Thank you to those members who supported the AGM Weekend and special thanks to the GLHA for a wonderful job of co-hosting.

GameSheet Inc.
GameSheet Inc. does the work for you. We track the game digitally, make them available to your Administrator via GameSheetDashboard and publish them instantly to your website and mobile device. No longer do you have to worry about paper. No longer are you taking that paper game sheet information and keying it in to post to your website. No longer are you spending your time compiling statistics. No longer are you trying to decipher the Time Keepers penmanship. It ALL goes away with GameSheet Inc.
The Coaches Site
We are a community of like-minded coaches that are focused on sharing innovative tools and resources with a global hockey network. We do this by attracting the top hockey coaches and performance experts to present at our conference, join our podcast and to provide exclusive content to our members.
FoxNet is a Waterloo-based IT solution provider. The FoxNet IT experts understand the impact technology can have on your business every day. Working with medium to large size organizations, FoxNet provides IT infrastructure solutions, end-to-end, which include IT Operations, data backup and recovery, helpdesk/support services and virtual CIO offerings.